Spirits Craft

asksecularwitch:

spiritscraft:

Brigit Icon by Sara Star

That is so good that I first thought it was an Orthodox Icon. The style is right on with the paintings of them.
Very awesome.

Thank you asksecularwitch! I learned to paint under an Greek Orthodox ikonographer (although she is Episcopalain).  I noticed a lot of Hindu icons done in the same basic style. I also read that the icon style was heavily influenced by Egyptian art. So I took an interest in transferring that style to additional polytheist subjects, I made this one of Brighid/Brigit which especially highlights the interplay between saint/goddess role she plays for the Irish and Irish Americans like me. I am also completing a triptych/quatrych of the Morrigan, using similar methods, but I am not using the traditional halo.
A number of saints play an important role for witches, ie Saint Sara and The Black Madonna. So I also have been painting some of these. I love that a skill I picked up while testing out the Christian church can translate into something special and sacred in my polytheist life if done carefully.

Brigit Icon by Sara Star (me)

I learned to paint under an Greek Orthodox ikonographer (although she is Episcopalain).  I noticed a lot of Hindu icons done in the same basic style. I also read that the icon style was heavily influenced by Egyptian art. So I took an interest in transferring that style to additional polytheist subjects, I made this one of Brighid/Brigit which especially highlights the interplay between saint/goddess role she plays for the Irish and Irish Americans like me. I am also completing a triptych/quatrych of the Morrigan, using similar methods, but I am not using the traditional halo.

A number of saints play an important role for witches, ie Saint Sara and The Black Madonna. So I also have been painting some of these. I love that a skill I picked up while testing out the Christian church can translate into something special and sacred in my polytheist life…

View original post 3 more words

Leave a Reply

