Day 1: Warts

I love this! 😀

Mountain Man Traditional Healing

I’m starting my journey with warts. Yes, warts. It’s a big category within Ozark folk healing. Vance Randolph in his Ozark Magic and Folklore says he interviewed a woman who had collected 125 individual wart cures. My uncle Bill, one of my grandpa’s brothers, was a known wart charmer. If you had a wart you’d just casually tell him, then he’d look it over and say, “I’ll give ya a penny for that wart.” Of course you’d take the penny, then within a day or so the wart would go away. This type of wart charming falls under the “buying” subsection. Buying illnesses in general might be a topic for another time.

Here are some quotes from Vance Randolph on wart charming:

Conjuring warts: using silent prayers and touching to remove warts.

“John Proctor Gentry, in Springfield, Missouri, assured me that he could ‘conjure’ warts. He refused to tell me…

View original post 1,289 more words

Leave a Reply

